This case study was written by Sam Fallows, a current Business Studies student at Lancashire Business School

logo

Where did you do your placement?

I did my placement at Grant ThorntonĀ 

How did you find out about this opportunity?

I found out about this role through individual research

What was the application/interview process like?

After I applied I attended an informal interview and completed a series of online tests. These tests were challenging but I passes and moved forward to attend an assessment centre which I found beneficial as it was more formal. I then received a call that my application had been successful.

Did you have to re-locate as part of your placement?

No, I was able to live at home as I was based in the Liverpool branch which was 30 minutes away from me.

What were you day to day duties whilst on placement?

I mostly focused on auditing, I was always auditing the financial documents for clients. This gave me a breadth of knowledge as I was always completing different tasks for different clients.

Were you involved with any kind of special projects, campaigns or initiatives?

I was able to spend time with new starters to help them when they began their roles, attended social events and campaigned on behalf of Grant Thornton at graduate careers fairs.

What was the main thing you learned from doing your placement?

Grant Thornton is a great place to work and train to become a chartered accountant. Iā€™d recommend it to anyone.

What was your favourite part about being on placement?

I got the opportunity to meet a lot of great people and I learned a lot ā€“ but it was also nice to earn money too whilst I was doing it.

How has it impacted your studies now that you are back at university?

I am definitely more focused to get a first and I am going to knuckle down to ensure that I get the best grade I can get!

Leave a Reply

